food inc. + environment + health + planet

Food Inc. was completely incredible shocking informative important! Wow! I knew that the concept of factory farming was bad, but the level of invasiveness, insidiousness and outright control on the North American diet is ASTONISHING.

Some stats to chew on – there are 47,000 products in the average supermarket. 90% have corn in them!
Cows are fed corn to fatten them up – when they should be eating grass! Being a butcher used to be safe and prestigious job back in the 50s. It’s now one of the most dangerous jobs there is and often done by exploited, undocumented workers since no one else wants to do the dirty work. Factory chickens are raised in five weeks, so quickly their bones don’t form and they can’t support themselves.

And on and on and on.

BUT THE GOOD NEWS is WE HAVE THE POWER TO CHANGE this. Buy local. Buy in season. Buy organic. Don’t eat fast food. Processed food. Packaged food. Your body and your planet deserves so much more.

6 Responses

  1. My friend Denise also sent this link to another film about how “you are what you eat.” http://www.foodmatters.tv/

  2. Thank you for sharing this very interesting and informative article. I have learned a great deal. Please keep up the good work.

  3. check out the book Chew On This. It makes me almost never want to eat McDonalds again…

  4. Thanks will do. Food Inc. had pretty much the same effect on me. And with the Treehugger
    suggestion I’m now a weekday vegatarian!

  5. Bean, can I call you Bean?, I watched Food Inc about a year ago and it changed my life, I have become a “selective omnivore” eating only what I refer to as “happy meat” I need to know where it came from, who ‘grew”it, what it ate, and if it lived a happy cow (or chicken or piggy) life. I am very lucky to have access to local farmers who pasture raise their animals. It costs a premium, but that just keeps me honest, ensuring I use every bit possible, creating 2 or 3 meals out of one chicken, and only eating meat once a week or so. Here is a link to my favorite local sustainable farm. http://www.shadowlanefarm.com/

  6. I’m so impressed with your commitment. What an awesome example you are. I’m doing the weekday veggie thing as much as I can and trying to shop at the farmer’s market which is every tuesday in the park near my house!

Leave a Reply

