free stuff + charity garage sales + japan fundraising

Spring has sprung. The robins are out. The snowdrops and crocuses (croci?) are popping up. And it’s time to for that annoying and liberating ritual – SPRING CLEANING! Lately I’ve been thinking about the massive amounts of stuff that I have – especially after seeing the incredible devastation in Japan and how it has erased lives. The broken earth, the crazy water and now the radiation everywhere. It’s harrowing and makes me feel sad and powerless.

So in my small way, I got a biggish idea. If you have more than you need, or things you don’t use, why not give them to someone else? According to my friends, I prattle (yes, they actually used this retro-granny word!) about this kind of thing a lot. And to that, I stick my tongue out and raspberry because my idea du jour is this….. collect things you’re not using and….
a. put them in front of your house with a “free” sign.
b. drop them off at the Goodwill or like minded shop.
c. organize a garage or street sale and give the proceeds to Japan relief organizations.
It’ll make you feel lighter, freer and helpful!

Leave a Reply

